top of page

November 14 2017

Today we each looked at a monitor in room 538 to figure out why it would not turn on. On my first look at it, I saw that the master button on the surge protector was on, so that was not the cause of the issue. Then I looked at the back of the computer monitor to see if any of the wires were loose. However I could not find any loose cables either. I determined two things based on my initial observation of the monitor, one is that the issue could be that the VGA connection was bad, another could be that the monitor was asleep or turned of in general. However when Mrs.Salyer took me back and showed me the diagnostic lights in front of the CPU that were on. After she showed me that the LED lights were showing what was wrong with the monitor, I went back to my laptop and tried to figure out what they meant. At first I was looking for a forum talking about the issue, however I could not find any. After that I simply looked up "dell Optiplex 3010 diagnostic light codes". That lead me to the manuals on the Dell Support site for the mini tower, which was the type of CPU in room 538. I scrolled through the manual until it brought up diagnostics. I read through the pages until I came across the exact code I was looking for. This code was the 1 and 2 were lit up and the power button was blue. From the manual I learned that the issue maybe caused by an expansion card failure. After I explained to Mrs.Salyer what I found, she lead me to a different web page on the Dell Support site. This web page had all the different meanings for the diagnostic LEDs based on what year it was developed. I looked in the range that the CPU in room 538 was most likely developed in and looked through the diagnostic meanings. I found the same meaning as I did in the manual I found. Afterward, Mrs.Salyer took us back into room 538 and showed us how to fix the monitor. Johnny and Micheal removed the monitor and surge protector from on top of the CPU. Mrs.Salyer stood the CPU up and undid one of the sides of the case. She sowed us that the problem with the monitor was with the RAM stick not being properly seated or needed to be reseated. After that was done, she closed the CPU back up and moved the monitor and surge protector back to where they were before and turned on the monitor. The monitor turned on after that and I was able to log in completely.

TEKS 1(A)(B)(C) 3(D) 4(A) 5(D) 6(B) 7(A)(B)(C)(D)(F)


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page