top of page

October 12 2017

In 5th period, Mrs.Salyer and I were able to start updating the BIOS on some computers. A few were already finished when I had gotten there. But before that I helped Mrs.Salyer see if there were still issues with the wireless ethernet of the library computers after the power surge this morning. I did this by simply by logging into the computer, and see if it allowed me to log in. To start the BIOS, we plugged in one of Mrs.Salyer's USBs into each CPU. From there we navigated to the file that said "Dell 780". Inside the folder was BIOS update 12 and 15. We dragged each program to the desktop of each computer. We clicked on BIOS update 12 to let it run on each computer. While that was happening, we went up to Lab 431 to update all of the computers. We turned all of the computers on, and then I entered part of the administrative username on each computer. Mrs.Salyer entered the rest and entered the administrative password to log into all of the computers. She also placed mouse pads that needed to be replaced on the desk. We needed 13 new mouse pads as some mouses did not even have a mouse pad. However we did not start updating as it was close to 6th period.

In 6th period, while we were waiting for the boys to come down, Mrs.Salyer and I started to replace the RAM, from the CPUs that we updated. I added 2 2GB RAM sticks to the CPU I was working on when the boys walked in. When I plugged the power back into the CPU there was a beeping noise, signaling that there was something wring with the memory. However, I fixed it later in the period. Then we split into two groups, Noah and I went back up to Lab 431 to update all of the computers and replace the 13 mouse pads. We grabbed the new mouse pads before we headed up to the lab. When we got to the lab, we clicked on the start button on the task bar and clicked shut down. This was the computer would install all of the available updates before it shut down. There were two computers that were not logged into, either time ran out or Mrs.Salyer and I entered the username and password incorrectly. We skipped over those and installed all the updates to the other computers. When that was done we began to replace all 13 old mouse pads with new ones. When we went back down to the tech room, the other group was still out. I started to fix the issue I had with the CPU RAM. I opened the case and checked the RAM. What I thought was true, one of the sticks was not clicked in all the way. After a few minutes the other group came back and I started to install 2 4GB RAM sticks into the CPU.

TEKS 1(A)(C)(D)(F) 3(A) 6(B) 10(E)


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page